Fast Facts


Public Works & Economic Development Act (PWEDA):
Congress passed the Public Works & Economic Development Act (PWEDA) to stimulate growth in distressed areas of the country. It established the Economic Development Administration (EDA) to assist in these areas.
Member Counties:
 The counties of Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery and Oneida were designated as high unemployment areas in 1966 and the District was formed. Schoharie County joined in 1967 and Otsego County was added in 2004.  The District is a private, not-for-profit corporation under the Internal Revenue Code [501-C(3)].
Operation of the District comes from a federal government planning grant (EDA), local government contributions, and loan interest and fees charged to business clients.
Board of Directors:
Directors are elected by District members so as to represent all member counties; at least 51% of the Directors must be elected public officials; others come from business, industry, the professions and labor.

The District cooperates with a variety of community organizations, attends their meetings and participates in joint projects.


  • Economic Development Corporations
  • Industrial Development Agencies
  • Cornell Cooperative Extension Associations
  • New York State Agencies
  • Chambers of Commerce
  • Local Schools, BOCES and Colleges
  • Local Government Units
© 2017 Mohawk Valley Economic Development District, Inc.